Anyone have a quick shifter and if so do you like it? - Page 2 - Yamaha FZ-10 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-14-2017, 06:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Quick Shifter on 2017 FZ-10

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInWoodland View Post
As in 2017 FZ? because mine doesn't have it if so.
Dumb question but not ashamed to ask
If 'QS' is illuminated on the dash does that mean the QuickShifter is installed on the bike?
StealthUnion is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-14-2017, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DaveInWoodland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 384
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthUnion View Post
Dumb question but not ashamed to ask
If 'QS' is illuminated on the dash does that mean the QuickShifter is installed on the bike?
I believe so, you can look and see if there is a connector going from the shift stalk to a wiring harness right near it. The FZ-10 is plug in and then as I understand it you hold the gear selector up, turn on the key and in 20 seconds or less it will flash on the panel.

But I haven't personally done it so I cannot say for certain.
DaveInWoodland is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 01:58 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInWoodland View Post
I believe so, you can look and see if there is a connector going from the shift stalk to a wiring harness right near it. The FZ-10 is plug in and then as I understand it you hold the gear selector up, turn on the key and in 20 seconds or less it will flash on the panel.

But I haven't personally done it so I cannot say for certain.
Thank you, Sir. I will try this out and see what happens
StealthUnion is offline  
 
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DaveInWoodland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 384
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthUnion View Post
Thank you, Sir. I will try this out and see what happens
I have seen many people that buy new FZ's and the dealer has added a quick shift to it. Normally they will let you in on it since for many of us have never owned a bike with one.
DaveInWoodland is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DaveInWoodland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 384
Garage
I decided to wait on the QS, they are out of stock pretty everywhere until June 5th anyway. I'm sure eventually I'll do one I just don't want to commit to it at the moment for some reason.
DaveInWoodland is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 11:08 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
I just installed one on my bike. It works, but it seems to be a little clunky to operate. It is installed correctly as per the instructions so maybe I just need to get used to how it works. Needs more pressure to shift than I expected. Never had a bike with a quick shifter before, it is fun!
northsouth is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 114
Garage
Mine is on order. The dealer gave me a discount(probably could have still found it cheaper online) on accessories when purchased the bike, so I opted for the taller screen and the quick shifter. Looks like a very simple install. I will give an update on my thoughts after trying it out.
Ludicrouspeeds is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DaveInWoodland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 384
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludicrouspeeds View Post
Mine is on order. The dealer gave me a discount(probably could have still found it cheaper online) on accessories when purchased the bike, so I opted for the taller screen and the quick shifter. Looks like a very simple install. I will give an update on my thoughts after trying it out.
2wheelpros.com has them for 156.00 free shipping, Yamaha OEM.
DaveInWoodland is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-29-2020, 06:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
My 2017 model came with it installed when I bought from dealer.
DavidMars is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-29-2020, 06:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
So, I always ride with it and in fact I don't how it can be without it. But sometimes I also think that there is no the obligatory need for one. As I know you can buy such quick shifter because it costs about $200. Only I suggest to find a good mechanic or car electrician that will help you with installation. I don't advice to make a job that you cannot. You can look for a good professional at this company. https://bates-electric.com/locations/minneapolis-mn/
DavidMars is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha FZ-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MT-10 Gets A Small Price Hike For 2017 FZ-10 News 2017+ FZ-10 & MT-10 News 3 01-27-2017 02:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome