GoPro Hero 5 clicking noises - Yamaha FZ-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-13-2017, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff_in_pdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 77
GoPro Hero 5 clicking noises

There's a known issue with the GoPro Hero 5 and a clicking or popping noise that can be heard when using an external microphone. Two possible solutions that I've seen are to either turn off the wifi, or to only use a mono mic rather than stereo as the stereo mic is causing the camera to peak out or something.

I've been doing a lot of testing and the solution is pretty simple. You need to add a ferrite cable magnet to the cable as close to the camera as possible.

That simple addition has eliminated all popping and clicking, regardless of the mic I'm running.

I'll post up some pictures of the set up I'm running, along with some sound files as soon as I can. The weather here in Portland has not been conducive to riding recently.
Jeff_in_pdx is offline  
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-14-2017, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff_in_pdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 77
WHOOHOOO!!!

Check out this video sound

Quick romp around the neighborhood with the GoPro Hero5, external mic adapter, and DJI Mic installed in the tail of the bike.

Listen to this rumble.
Jeff_in_pdx is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveInWoodland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 384
Garage
Is the compass and the route map part of the go-pro options to display in the video?. Audio sounds great, like your actually riding on the bike. Would great to see some full throttle footage

That issue too you mentioned is widely reported but I've never seen someone resolve it with the magnet. May want to post that everywhere and take credit for that.
DaveInWoodland is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff_in_pdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInWoodland View Post
Is the compass and the route map part of the go-pro options to display in the video?.

That issue too you mentioned is widely reported but I've never seen someone resolve it with the magnet. May want to post that everywhere and take credit for that.
Yes, the compass and route map are part of the new version of the Quik software that you install on your PC/Mac for the GoPro. I'm not 100% sure why they have Quik and GoPro Studio; as a novice video editor, it gets very confusing.

I've posted up my solution about adding the magnet to the cord everywhere I can think of.
Jeff_in_pdx is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 269
That is perfect!! Thank you so much for that as I'm starting to experiment with my GoPro Hero5 Black edition again, but another question, have you thought about adding that furry thing to it to cut down any wind noise??
Sporting is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff_in_pdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporting View Post
That is perfect!! Thank you so much for that as I'm starting to experiment with my GoPro Hero5 Black edition again, but another question, have you thought about adding that furry thing to it to cut down any wind noise??
LOL, that furry thing is literally known as a 'dead cat'. Disgusting term, but funny at the same time.

The mic I'm running already has a pretty dense foam sleeve on it. I could put another wind protector on it, but not sure that it's necessary. I may just move it back from the very back of the underside of the seat, to just behind the throttle controls or something (but still under the seat). The problem with having it as far back as I put it is that I think it's still getting wind noise from the air coming around the gap near the brake light.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DJI Mic.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	5.2 KB
ID:	2394  
Jeff_in_pdx is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 269
See... I was leaning towards dead rabbit but I didn't wanna seem like an insensitive person lmao !

But ahh okay and that wind noise that you may encounter could perhaps become a whistling sound because it's coming around the gaps and I think that's more irritating than the regular buffeting lol
Sporting is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2017, 01:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff_in_pdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporting View Post
See... I was leaning towards dead rabbit but I didn't wanna seem like an insensitive person lmao !

But ahh okay and that wind noise that you may encounter could perhaps become a whistling sound because it's coming around the gaps and I think that's more irritating than the regular buffeting lol
Here's the finished product:

The sound is exactly what I was looking for; there's no post production work on the video; what you hear/see is directly from the gopro.
Jeff_in_pdx is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2021, 01:51 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 6
I really like this post.
Leemarkus11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha FZ-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome